Microsoft Azure AI

    Platform / infrastructureHQ · USWebsite As at 25 Sept 2026
    This tracker records only what each vendor has published on its own public pages. It is not an assessment, audit, certification or endorsement. Vendors change their documentation — always verify directly before making a procurement decision.

    Data storage region

    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Azure Speech: data is stored only in the region where the Speech resource was created. Australia East (australiaeast) is listed as a supported Azure Speech region under the Asia Pacific geography.
    “Azure Speech doesn't store or process your data outside the region of your Azure Speech resource. The data is stored or processed only in the region where the resource is created.”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Azure Australia geography is served from datacentres in Melbourne and Sydney (stated in Microsoft's IRAP compliance page).
    “hosted from datacenters in Melbourne and Sydney. These two datacenters give Australian customers control over where their customer data is stored”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Foundry Models sold by Azure (incl. Azure OpenAI): data at rest is stored in the customer-designated Azure geography, including for Global and DataZone deployment types.
    “any data stored at rest, such as uploaded data, and including the abuse monitoring data store created for Global and DataZone deployments, is stored in the customer-designated geography.”
    learn.microsoft.com

    Data processing region

    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Foundry models page says global training does not offer data residency and is available to Foundry resources in Australia East.
    “Global training provides more affordable training per token, but doesn't offer data residency. It's currently available to Foundry resources in the following regions: Australia East”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Azure Speech: processing occurs only in the region of the Speech resource. Australia East is listed as supporting real-time transcription, fast transcription, batch transcription, Whisper via batch transcription, custom speech training, neural text to speech and real-time speech translation.
    “The data is stored or processed only in the region where the resource is created. For example, if you create a Foundry resource for speech in the westus region, the data is only in the westus region.”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Global deployment types: processing is NOT restricted to the customer geography — prompts and responses may be processed in any geography where the model is deployed. Storage at rest remains in the customer-designated geography.
    “For any deployment type labeled 'Global,' prompts and responses may be processed in any geography where the relevant model sold by Azure is deployed”
    learn.microsoft.com

    Model provenance

    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Foundry 'models sold by Azure' includes Azure OpenAI models. Azure Speech region tables additionally name gpt-realtime, gpt-4o/4.1/5.x, mai-transcribe, phi4 and Whisper model families as available in specific regions.
    “A 'model sold by Azure' is an AI model designated and deployed as such in Foundry, and includes Azure OpenAI models.”
    learn.microsoft.com

    Subprocessors

    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Microsoft publishes a Microsoft Online Services Subprocessors List identifying subprocessors authorised to process customer data or personal data. Named list not enumerated on the page checked.
    “The publicly disclosed Microsoft Online Services Subprocessors List identifies subprocessors authorized to process customer data or personal data.”
    azure.microsoft.com

    Certifications

    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    IRAP: Microsoft states ACSC certification of Azure and Office 365 at the PROTECTED classification (April 2018), with the September 2019 assessment scope covering 113 services at PROTECTED, and further incremental Azure/Dynamics and Office 365 assessments completed December 2020.
    “In April 2018, the ACSC announced the certification of Azure and Office 365 at the PROTECTED classification.”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    ISO/IEC 27001 and HITRUST CSF: BAA-covered Microsoft services are audited by accredited independent auditors for these certifications.
    “undergo audits conducted by accredited independent auditors for the Microsoft ISO/IEC 27001 certification and the HITRUST Common Security Framework (CSF) certification”
    learn.microsoft.com

    TGA status

    SummaryChecked 28 July 2026
    Not found on public pages
    We could not find this on the vendor's public pages as at the check date. This is not a statement that the vendor lacks the capability or has not disclosed it elsewhere.
    learn.microsoft.com

    PMS integrations

    SummaryChecked 28 July 2026
    Not found on public pages
    We could not find this on the vendor's public pages as at the check date. This is not a statement that the vendor lacks the capability or has not disclosed it elsewhere.
    azure.microsoft.com

    ANZ entity

    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    MICROSOFT PTY LTD, ABN 29 002 589 460, Australian Private Company, ABN active from 01 Apr 2000, GST registered from 01 Jul 2000, main business location NSW 2060. Recorded from the Australian Business Register; the register does not state which Microsoft entity contracts for Azure services.
    “Entity name: MICROSOFT PTY LTD”
    abr.business.gov.au

    Support hours

    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Published response-time targets on paid plans include: Minimal business impact (Sev C) within eight business hours; Moderate business impact (Sev B) within four hours; Critical business impact (Sev A) within one hour.
    “Moderate business impact (Sev B): Within four hours Critical business impact (Sev A): Within one hour”
    azure.microsoft.com
    Common questions

    What Microsoft Azure AI publishes — answered from the record

    Where does Microsoft Azure AI store patient data?
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Azure Speech: data is stored only in the region where the Speech resource was created. Australia East (australiaeast) is listed as a supported Azure Speech region under the Asia Pacific geography.
    “Azure Speech doesn't store or process your data outside the region of your Azure Speech resource. The data is stored or processed only in the region where the resource is created.”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Azure Australia geography is served from datacentres in Melbourne and Sydney (stated in Microsoft's IRAP compliance page).
    “hosted from datacenters in Melbourne and Sydney. These two datacenters give Australian customers control over where their customer data is stored”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Foundry Models sold by Azure (incl. Azure OpenAI): data at rest is stored in the customer-designated Azure geography, including for Global and DataZone deployment types.
    “any data stored at rest, such as uploaded data, and including the abuse monitoring data store created for Global and DataZone deployments, is stored in the customer-designated geography.”
    learn.microsoft.com
    Where does Microsoft Azure AI process data?
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Foundry models page says global training does not offer data residency and is available to Foundry resources in Australia East.
    “Global training provides more affordable training per token, but doesn't offer data residency. It's currently available to Foundry resources in the following regions: Australia East”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Azure Speech: processing occurs only in the region of the Speech resource. Australia East is listed as supporting real-time transcription, fast transcription, batch transcription, Whisper via batch transcription, custom speech training, neural text to speech and real-time speech translation.
    “The data is stored or processed only in the region where the resource is created. For example, if you create a Foundry resource for speech in the westus region, the data is only in the westus region.”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Global deployment types: processing is NOT restricted to the customer geography — prompts and responses may be processed in any geography where the model is deployed. Storage at rest remains in the customer-designated geography.
    “For any deployment type labeled 'Global,' prompts and responses may be processed in any geography where the relevant model sold by Azure is deployed”
    learn.microsoft.com
    Which AI models does Microsoft Azure AI use?
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Foundry 'models sold by Azure' includes Azure OpenAI models. Azure Speech region tables additionally name gpt-realtime, gpt-4o/4.1/5.x, mai-transcribe, phi4 and Whisper model families as available in specific regions.
    “A 'model sold by Azure' is an AI model designated and deployed as such in Foundry, and includes Azure OpenAI models.”
    learn.microsoft.com
    What certifications does Microsoft Azure AI publish?
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    IRAP: Microsoft states ACSC certification of Azure and Office 365 at the PROTECTED classification (April 2018), with the September 2019 assessment scope covering 113 services at PROTECTED, and further incremental Azure/Dynamics and Office 365 assessments completed December 2020.
    “In April 2018, the ACSC announced the certification of Azure and Office 365 at the PROTECTED classification.”
    learn.microsoft.com
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    ISO/IEC 27001 and HITRUST CSF: BAA-covered Microsoft services are audited by accredited independent auditors for these certifications.
    “undergo audits conducted by accredited independent auditors for the Microsoft ISO/IEC 27001 certification and the HITRUST Common Security Framework (CSF) certification”
    learn.microsoft.com
    Which subprocessors does Microsoft Azure AI name?
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Microsoft publishes a Microsoft Online Services Subprocessors List identifying subprocessors authorised to process customer data or personal data. Named list not enumerated on the page checked.
    “The publicly disclosed Microsoft Online Services Subprocessors List identifies subprocessors authorized to process customer data or personal data.”
    azure.microsoft.com
    What does Microsoft Azure AI publish about TGA status?
    Not found on public pages
    We could not find this on the vendor's public pages as at the check date. This is not a statement that the vendor lacks the capability or has not disclosed it elsewhere.
    Which practice management systems does Microsoft Azure AI list as integrations?
    Not found on public pages
    We could not find this on the vendor's public pages as at the check date. This is not a statement that the vendor lacks the capability or has not disclosed it elsewhere.
    Which Australian or New Zealand entity does Microsoft Azure AI contract through?
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    MICROSOFT PTY LTD, ABN 29 002 589 460, Australian Private Company, ABN active from 01 Apr 2000, GST registered from 01 Jul 2000, main business location NSW 2060. Recorded from the Australian Business Register; the register does not state which Microsoft entity contracts for Azure services.
    “Entity name: MICROSOFT PTY LTD”
    abr.business.gov.au
    What support hours does Microsoft Azure AI publish?
    SummaryChecked 25 Sept 2026
    Published response-time targets on paid plans include: Minimal business impact (Sev C) within eight business hours; Moderate business impact (Sev B) within four hours; Critical business impact (Sev A) within one hour.
    “Moderate business impact (Sev B): Within four hours Critical business impact (Sev A): Within one hour”
    azure.microsoft.com

    Answered from what the vendor publishes on its own public pages, or from an official register where noted, as at the check date shown. Not an assessment, audit, certification or endorsement.

    Right of reply

    Something wrong or out of date?

    Are we missing something, or has this changed? Vendors and their representatives can submit a correction, and we note each change and credit the source. We review every correction request and update the entry when the source supports it.

    Submit a correction